top of page



Re-elect Sonya Mays, Misha Stallworth & Iris Taylor to Detroit's School Board.

Incumbents Sonya Mays, Misha Stallworth, and Iris Taylor make up the School Achievement Slate. 

These three women are part of the inaugural DPSCD school board who were locally elected following decades of Emergency Management in November 2016. From ballot of 63 candidates that year, voters selected 7 including these 3.

Each candidate has made collective and individual contributions to DPSCD that yielded positive outcomes.  As a team, the new, locally elected Board identified change-agent and education reformer, Dr. Nikolai Vitti to lead the district as superintendent. They quickly addressed imminent school closures by establishing and implementing a three-year strategic plan (with the Michigan Department of Education) to turnaround partnership schools; and they worked to approve and shepherd a consistently balanced budget to begin exiting from financial state oversight. In addition, they have established district policies that support critical systems and processes. 


The School Achievement Slate is committed to continuing to prioritize the needs of students and working to ensure all students, in every classroom, every day have access to a high quality public education.

Screen Shot 2020-08-02 at 4.25.33 PM.png

Iris A. Taylor, RN. Ph.D.

Screen Shot 2020-08-02 at 4.25.21 PM.png

Misha Stallworth, M.S.W.

Screen Shot 2020-08-02 at 4.25.04 PM.png

Sonya Mays, Esq.

bottom of page